Rockhampton Hospital Staff 1930
Title Rockhampton Hospital Staff 1930
Description The photograph shows doctors and senior nursing staff at the Rockhampton Hospital in 1930. Back row (L to R): Sisters Margret Fraser, Evelyn Scot, P. Bradford, Christine (Tot) Healy, Janet Sheppard, Betty Cummings, Alma Collins, Ivy Baker; Front Row: Dr Dallas Walker, Matron Edith Smith, Dr Claude Constable. Dr Constable was appointed by the Rockhampton Hospitals Board at a meeting on 18 December 1930 when Miss E. M. Smith was reappointed as Matron and Sister Fraser, formally Sub-Matron, was appointed as Senior Sister. Edith Smith held the Matron's position from May 1929 until September 1931. Sisters Fraser and Collins went on to hold the position of Matron in the hospital in later years, and Sister Baker served for many years as Deputy Matron and occasionally Acting Matron. (Information taken from: The Brisbane Courier 11 September 1931 p.3 retrieved from National Library of Australia accessed 07 Sep 2010)
Image Number 81
Publisher Australian Country Hospital Heritage Association Inc.
Source (Original)
Subject Bradford, P.
Subject Collins, Alma
Subject Cummings, Betty
Subject Doctors
Subject Fraser, Margaret
Subject Healy, Christine (Tot)
Subject Hospital Matrons
Subject Nurses
Subject Scot, Evelyn
Subject Sheppard, Janet
Coverage - Spatial Rockhampton Hospital
Coverage - Spatial Rockhampton, Queensland
Coverage - Time 1930
Format of Original photographic print: b&w (23.3 cm x 17.2 cm); scan .tif 15.7 MB 2719 x 2019 pixels
Digital Format image/jpeg
Rights This image is provided for the purpose of private study and research and must not be reproduced without the permission of the Australian Country Hospital Heritage Association Inc.